11
Apr
09

My US friends

Maya Angelou, George Wald and Pete Seeger were especially kind to me. I shall never forget the encouragement and love I got from them. George Wald, a Nobel laureate scientist, came to like me so much that he started calling me up from the Harvard University late at night and we talked till the small hours. Listening to Dr Wald was like attending a seminar of the highest intellectual order. Avoiding pedantry he enlightened me on things as varied as physics, philosophy, Taoism, Zen and radical politics. What I found remarkable was his sense of humor. Whatever he said was always with a touch of humor. He told me that as the Chairman of the Russell Tribunal he once faced an interesting situation in which some US military personnel rather stupidly asked, ‘But how the hell can we move out of Vietnam now?’ And this was what Dr Wald told them: ‘Why? That’s quite simple: in airplanes, in ships, by cars and by foot!’

1 Response to “My US friends”


  1. 1 Nasir
    October 21, 2009 at 2:28 am

    It’s great to learn about such a person of your life…I know what a person can do with immense knowledge and a willing mind for his company…I wish I would have had someone like that.


Leave a Reply

